The Goal-Minded Teacher starts today

Disculpa, pero esta entrada está disponible sólo en Inglés Estadounidense. For the sake of viewer convenience, the content is shown below in the alternative language. You may click the link to switch the active language.

We are excited to begin Unit 1, The Goal-Minded Teacher! During this first week, we will explore several goal-setting approaches and determine which of these strategies resonates with us the most so that we can use them to reach our instructional goals throughout our teaching careers. We will also learn about the history behind The 30 Goals Challenge for Teachers, which is the movement that inspired the #EduGoalsMOOC.

 

Participants have three challenges to accomplish this week. The first is to introduce themselves through with an image and add 3 fun stickers or emojis to tell us more about themselves (these images can be created using Twitter or Facebook; see the example moderator, Shelly Sanchez Terrell, created and shared on Twitter here using the hashtag, #EduGoalsMOOC; see the example moderators, Fabiana Casella shared on Facebook here and Kelly Jake Duncan shared here. They all explained in their Facebook posts what the 3 stickers mean).

Their other two tasks include pinpointing their location in a shared map and publishing their first entry in their learning portfolio. As in other MOOCs by INTEF all the activities will be shared in social spaces so that participants can learn from each other and support each other. Participants will share their activities, collaborate, and connect with other participants each week in the Goal-Minded Teacher Facebook group and by sharing on Twitter with the hashtag, #EduGoalsMOOC.

The first live event organized for this MOOC is a Google Hangout with several invited guest experts who took part in the 30 Goals Challenge which inspired The Goal-Minded Teacher MOOC. The panelists are educators located in the US, Greece, and Portugal. They include Lisa Dabbs (@TeachWithSoul), Theodora Papapanagiotou (@DoraPap72), Nikki D Robertson (@NikkiDRobertson), Christina Chorianopoulou (@Kryftina), and Cristina Monteiro Silva (@cristimsilva). The course moderators will also be at Google Hangout, which takes place on Saturday, February 17th at 16:00 pm UTC/ 11:00 am ET/ 10:00 am CT/ 8:00 am PT (check your time zones here). You can submit questions we will read out live by submitting them to the Goal-Minded Teacher Facebook group or tweeting to one of your moderators- Fabiana Casella, (@FabLCasellaEDU), Kelly Jake Duncan (@JKDNCN), and Shelly Sanchez Terrell, (@ShellTerrell).

Haven’t you enrolled yet? Just click on this link and join The Goal-Minded Teacher experience. Feel free to ask us any questions along the way on Twitter, Facebook. We are excited to begin this journey with you!